First impressions are important. Some people think doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job.

To what extent do you agree?

It is true that people tend to judge another person by its appearance and first impression. This is why it is considered by some people that an interview is highly important in the process of getting a desirable job. I partly agree with this opinion because an interview is the key factor in employer’s decision-making whether a person will be hired or not.

First, if a person even has lack of qualification, a smooth interview may play significant role in their employment. The reason of it is that soft-skills in certain types of jobs such as sales may be more important that formal education and many employers tend to choose those candidates who was able to attract them. In addition, an interview is an occasion to demonstrate extra skills that were not mentioned in a resume. Actually, successful interview is 50% of success.

However, it will be wrong to assert that an impressive interview is the main reason for employment. In fact, hard skills and work experience equally important or even more important for securing a good job. Especially, it is crucial for those occupations as surgeons, pilots, engineers where technical skills or deep knowledge of a subject are demanding. Thus, e person who wish to find a good job should concentrate on education and gaining necessary skills first and only after that concern about an interview.

In conclusion, I agree that first impression is important to certain extent, meanwhile real working experience and education is more important for being hired for well-paid and interesting job.