The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extend do you agree?

There is an opinion that preventive measures of medical problems have greater importance than medical care and medication. Thus, state budget should be commensurate. Personally, I somewhat agree with this opinion because government should take actions in order to prevent serious diseases and epidemics.

Firstly, it is true that if the authorities do not invest money on health in terms of prevention serious illnesses, it will lead to certain consequences such as increased number of different diseases among population. In the long term, it means that government will spend significantly larger amount of money on a therapy than they would spend on preventive measures. The major reason of it is that medications, operations, hospitals and complete medical care system is very expensive as well as an ill person is not able to work and contribute in the budget of a country through taxes. For instance, nowadays in America we can observe the situation that qualified workers who happened to become ill find themselves on the streets due to high rates on treatment and medical care.

Secondly, as citizens pay taxations they have right to receive all necessary services including various preventive actions such as proving healthy meals in public schools, free sports club programs for the poorest part of population as well as for school-children and the elderly. For instance, the authority of our city has launched a program for pensioners, which gives them opportunity to attend a swimming pool without charge. Old people taking part in this program have better heath indicators and tend to visit doctors less than others. Thus, governments should surely relocate part of financial resources on preventive actions.

In conclusion, I agree that governments should take into account that in the long term it is sufficient to prevent disease than spent money on a treatment and provide an adequate budget on preventive measures.