Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates.

What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions?

The human race has faced and survived many challenges in the past centuries. However, none has been as unprecedented as global warming that is threatening human existence in this century with the associated worrying elevations of ocean levels. In this essay, some challenges that this pose and practical measures to overcome them will be submitted.

The biggest challenge global warming seems to pose is the extremely unpleasant weather conditions from the depletion of the ozone layer, worsened by fewer rainfalls. As a consequence, extreme weather events like tornado, thunderstorms and heat waves occur more frequently. These conditions have killed many in Malaysia while rendering millions homeless. Furthermore, ocean levels have risen in many regions of the world with many nations in the coastal axis submerged. To illustrate, Mumbai witnessed the highest rise in sea levels in 2019 with floods and loss of lives and properties.

Though these challenges are disturbing, measures to overcome them are not far-fetched. There is a need for a global call to action to reduce energy use. The energy consumed at home and work contributes to increased levels of carbon dioxide. When fossil fuels burn, greenhouse gases are generated, the release to the atmosphere of which depletes the ozone layer. Governments can legislate the use of electric cars and green energy like solar power in industries. Besides, deforestation should be banned to protect the ecosystem and preserve the human race.

In conclusion, extreme weather conditions and submergence of the coastal are obvious threats posed by global warming. Concerted global efforts to substitute the use of green energy for fossil fuels and protection of forests are viable measures to protect man from the menace of global warming. 280 words.