At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of old people.

Do the advantages of the situation outweigh the disadvantages ?

A contemporary review of the population of some nations shows that youths outnumber older people. Though this mismatch may have its drawbacks, it appears the circumstance offers more benefits such as, but not limited to economic buoyancy and population preservation.

Without a doubt, having a youthful population gives the economy a healthy status. In other words, the economy blossoms when the workforce consists of young individuals. For example, Brazil, a country with many youths recorded higher economic growth than older Scandinavian populations in the last two decades. Also, countries with brilliant colours of youthfulness on their population tend to have lower death rates especially in the periods of pandemics. This is exemplified by the mortality data from the recent Covid-19 pandemic where countries with older people were the worst hit. Lastly, a significant portion of national revenue often goes to the care of the aged in countries with a high number of such population due to the peculiarities of ageing. Japan and Italy easily come to mind in this regard.

Admittedly, a young population has some demerits, though these are often less important. Crimes such as cyber thefts and rape may be slightly increased. Though an unpublished report said cyberfraud was higher in Russia, a country with many young individuals, than Nigeria with a preponderance of old men and women, a post-hoc study of the report showed that the difference was not statistically significant. Besides, the growth curve may outpace available resources resulting in an impoverished population but this is not always true of every young population.

In conclusion, though the recent youthful outlook of several countries' population may make them prone to crime and poverty, these cannot be compared to the benefits of having a young population which includes buoyant economy, low death rates and a healthy government purse.