In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, governments in many nations motivate and support the relocation of businesses and industries to non- metropolitan areas in the country.

There are pros and cons to this recent development. This essay examines whether the benefits over-rides its drawbacks.

There are many benefits of industries and businesses establishing their base outside metropolitan areas and this includes a reduction in environmental pollution and congestion in cities.

With industries building their bases outside cities, toxic pollutions in the cities will be drastically reduced, especially from the industrial machineries and this will help the government achieve its environmental sustainability goals. Also, the over-crowding of cities caused by business workers would be cut-down, when they relocate closer to their place of work.

However, a major drawback to industries moving out of cities is the burden of huge travel expenses for low-pay workers and unemployment increase. Poor workers will find it difficult to finance their travel, commuting from their homes in the city to their place of work. Invariably, this will place them under huge stress to cater for their family needs having less money. Further more, this might cause some workers to resign because of the financial implications of transportation, thus resulting to unemployment and a negative impact on the societal economy.

In my opinion, i believe the benefits exceeds in importance compared to it disadvantages. It is better for industries and businesses to move to less populated areas as this would help in reducing pollution and over-crowding in the cities. For instance, the 2019 Nigerian Environmentalist Association Report, argue that Industries contribute to 85% of environmental pollution in the cities by their emission of poisonous gases.

In essence, a good way to curb this issue, is for the government to support and encourage industries to build their base outside metropolitan areas.