Health experts believe that walking is a good exercise for health. However, people are walking less nowadays. Why is this happening? Solutions.

From a scientific standpoint, doing exercises frequently, even in its simplest form - walking, has a positive impact on people’s health. However, it seems to be a concern that nowadays, people are doing less and less walking thus affecting their well-being. In my view, time and space constraints are the main culprits for this phenomenon.

In the past, people used to walk more, from adults to children. People walked to schools, to work, for leisure or for exercise. But now it is no longer the case. Due to the advancement in the automobile industry, cars and bikes are easier to access for most people. Besides that, with nowadays busier schedule for most people, the convenience in time and energy saving it gives makes this generation lazier and more dependent on automobiles. Modern people just prefer driving to walking.

Another factor for this phenomenon is the lack of spaces. Cities are more and more crowded with cars, buses that makes it difficult for people to walk on the street, and public parks are rare for some places. For instance, it is a 30-minute drive from my home to the nearest park, it takes too much effort for a 20-minute stroll, thus I prefer to stay home instead.

In order to solve this problem, more walking spaces are required. The first step is that the government should create more open walking-friendly areas for its citizen, especially in big cities, by building more parks. Moreover, some busy areas in the city should have vehicle restriction, this will make sure it is easier for a walk on the pavement.

In short, people are walking less nowadays is a direct result of lacking time and space. To counter this problem, the responsibility is on the government’s shoulder: it needs to take effective steps, including build more spaces and restrict vehicles in cities, to tackle this modern-day problem.