The leaders or directors of organizations are often older people. But some people say that young people can also be a leader. Do you agree or disagree?

An organization’s most important position is its leaders. These positions are usually reserved for the most competent and brilliant people, normally with many years of experience. But today, a certain number of people and organizations believe that even at a young age, young leaders are capable of driving their company forward. And I am in agreement with this sentiment.

First, these young leaders could bring new fresh ideas that the elder are not able to do. For example, Satya Nadella, Microsoft’s CEO, one of the biggest conglomerates in the world, brought fresh ideas about cloud computing that helped Microsoft grow tenfold to become the second biggest company in the world in terms of value. And he is only in his 40’s.

Besides, some old directors are too afraid to make changes while the young are not. Young people are more adventurous and dare to make changes, the changes so big that sometimes it redefines a company’s culture. Again, with Satya Nadella, Microsoft has changed its mindset to be more friendly toward Apple, and that has helped Microsoft to open a lot of business opportunities, a result that the previous CEO couldn’t make during his tenure.

But there are always two sides to any problem. While brilliant young leaders can do wonders, but due to their inexperience, they sometimes make mistake. Organizations cannot underestimate old leaders with their vast experience since it will help a lot in the decision making. A combination of both will be what organizations should head to.

In the end, it is up to the organization to decide its fate. There is no doubt that young leaders bring new ideas, but the experience cannot be overlooked. It is not the age, it is the proficiency that matters.