With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that undiscovered areas of the earth ought to be explored to meet the rising demand for fossil fuel. I completely disagree with the statement because human invasion into undiscovered places could affect wildlife and agriculture.

The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that human activities in remote areas would disturb the lives of wild animals. Forests that are situated in undiscovered places provide a habitable place for thousand of wildlife. Animals will lose their habitats if humans set up their oil or gas refinery units in the forest. This situation further pushes some endangered animals to the verge of their extinction. Therefore, it is clear that wild animals will possibly lose their homes if forest areas occupied by humans.

Another reason to support my view is that this situation adversely affects agriculture. This is because establishing oil rigs requires cutting down trees and clearing forest landscapes. It is evident that the rainfall we receive these days is because of the tropical forest areas that are located in undiscovered areas. Where there is insufficient precipitation, it will negatively affect the yield of farming. For example, the rainfall rate in India had reduced to 33% to 44% after the government's approval of oil exploration operation in its reserved forest areas. This also had resulted in a decline in the nation's agricultural export to 67% from 83%.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that the undiscovered areas around the globe should be explored to meet the increasing need for conventional fuel. This is because it will severely affect the lives of wild animals and lead to deforestation that has an adverse impact on farming.