Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some argue that it is responsibility of government to take necessary actions to prevent crime, others take the view that people's role in crime prevention is significant. I believe that it is a primary role of the governments to offer a safer place to live.

On the one side of the argument, there are people who contend that individuals have to take appropriate measures to protect themselves from crime. The most compelling reason for believing this is that home security preventive measures are highly efficient. For example, there are many homes nowadays built with high-tech security equipment like surveillance cameras, digital door lock system. These devices instantly alert the resident if there is a suspicious activity outside the permise. Therefore, such installation of security devices for every home is only possible by individuals not by the government.

In spite of the above argument, I am of the view that the government's action is more important in crime prevention. This is because they have both infrastructure and facilities to deterrent crime activities. When there is a stringent enforcement system and harsh punishments for criminal activities, there will be less occurance of offences. For instance, crime rate in Singapore is only 4% this is because the hefty fines and strict punishments by the law and enforcement system of Singapore. It is evident that the governments involvement in crime prevention is proven and more efficient.

In conclusion, while both the views are commonly held in society, I think the government's role in crime prevention is more significant. This is because the authorities have facilities to provide a safer community to the general public.