Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Parents want their children to reach their full potential and to that end they try to motivate them to try their hands on so many activities be it structured or not. Many people believe that parents should inspire their children to partake in organized group activities while some are of the opinion that children should learn to keep themselves busy. In this essay, I will explore the two views and then I will give my opinion.

Those who believe that parents should inspire their children to partake in organized group activities are of the opinion that the structure in place helps children have a wholesome learning experience because the activities are intentional. In other words, group activities such as debates build confidence, articulation, and boosts self-esteem. They are also of the opinion that the structure enforces civility and reduces the instances of bullying and hurt associated with learning.

On the other hand, those who are of the opinion that children should learn to keep themselves busy believe that structure stifles creativity. To illustrate, it is often though that a child who has a talent for drawing and painting could lose part of his creativity if he compelled to do his art to meet a fixed requirement. They also say that children should be able to explore activities as they please so that they end up choosing and doing what they truly enjoy.

To conclude, I believe that both views have valid opinions and my opinion is that children, regardless of whether they learn in organized groups activities or learn on their own, will still hit their potential provided that have supportive parents who will listen to their needs and act on them when necessary.