It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that residing at hostels would be a wise choice rather than living at home by students pursuing graduation and post-graduation. However, this essay disagrees with this statement because the lack of supervision and homesickness are two of the biggest drawbacks of this residential environment.

Firstly, the main reason for not living at colleges is the lack of monitoring of children by their birth givers. That is to say, youngsters who start college are mostly teenagers, which is a very crucial period of their lives and need to be guided properly by their guardians so that they can be diverted towards the right path of their lives, otherwise, they may fall prey to anti-social activities. A recent study has shown that about 45% of children who indulge in drugs are students residing at university accommodations.

Secondly, loneliness is another paramount factor to consider. In other words, learners after their secondary education go to a different environment, where they should interact with people having varied interests, which sometimes creates a hurdle for them to mingle with others and usually feel isolated, which in turn, gives rise to some psychometric problems such as stress and anxiety and they cannot concentrate on their studies. For instance, 35% of students from other states get enrolled in Punjab institutions every year and 45% of them quit their studies and return to their inhabitants due to unsuitable environments.

On balance, it is believed that accessing school hostels by pupils is a better decision than living at home, but this essay states that yearning for home and absence of parent's supervision in these accommodations are the prominent reasons to oppose this view.