Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is widely discussed that, spending excessive time over technical devices like computer have negative or positive impact on children, during beginning of their lives. Technology come with its own benefits and challenges which might have impact on development of child brain and to ensure that it does not have a negative impact on children it should be used under supervision of elders.

There is no doubt, that in this technological driven world having knowledge of computer is important until it is used as resource to enhance the knowledge. Spending limited time over the system will make children self-dependent and make them more aware about the society. There are several education application which simplify learning for children which they can use to learn complex educational topics, very easily. Having knowledge of using computer devices open them with large avenues to build their future. The same can be justified with, many News headlines which share success stories of children who have developed many 'Business Applications', and are now being used by many corporate organisations.

While, spending excessive time over computer have its disadvantages as well. Children who spends a large amount of their time on systems, tends to develop symptoms of depression, loneliness and become short-tempered. For instances where children make personal computer as their own friends do not like to socialize and want to spend time all alone. This also have impact on their health. Obesity, weak eye-sight, aggression are among few of the major problems which are currently, faced by the young generation.

To conclude, in my view, computers should be used by the children under the guidance of their guardians and it should be used as a tool to enhance knowledge and not as a device for recreational activity. Technology is definitely a boom however it can become a vain, if not used with its intended purpose.