Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems.

To what extend do you agree?

Allocating national budget whether on construction roads and highways or developing the public transportation system has become a frequent subject of debate. While many people believe in building more and promoting roads, I think developing a hi-tech public transportation service is more efficient.

To begin with, obviously, perhaps the main problem of today’s world is air pollution which is caused by human activities and also industrial emission. In terms of that part of pollution which is due to car emission, public transportation is known as an effective measure to address. Indeed, providing people with a developed transportation system including an expanded network with more bus or train lanes and punctual timetable will reduce the air pollution significantly. Providing comfortable seats and easy access to the remote area encourage people to use public transportation instead of their own car. Secondly, the role that public transportation plays in reduction of traffic congestion, especially in megacities, is hard to be ignored. Take Istanbul as an illustrative example, which is a destination for many tourists from all around the world. Traffic jam in this kind of cities not only affect the citizens’ life but also might has negative impacts on the tourism industry.

Admittedly, it is true that more high quality roads and motorways may result in more safe communication and facilitate people travelling. Nevertheless, diverting governmental funding into these projects rather than promoting public transportation system may stimulate people to use their private cars which bring a new set of concerns. As mentioned before, air pollution is one of the potential problem that are certain to arise.

In conclusion, I think advantages associated with devoting budget to develop a hi-tech public transportation outnumber those because of road construction.