It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been argued for quite a long time, why children are not habitual to read academic books? Although they have tremendous amount of energy to read, less interest shown by children in reading thru out entire education period. In this essay, I will explain further why it is difficult to get children into habit of reading and will share all the possible solutions that could be taken to encourage them to read more and more.

One of the basic nature of a child is to explore different things, but they do not enjoy reading which is required for educating them. As they are mobile in nature and do not like to sit idle at one place for long period of time, they are lacking behind in reading academic study material or other tests. I think the energy which children holds, is sometimes not channelized properly among them. As a result, they are not able to focus on one thing and lacking behind in concentration. School children, for instance, are interested in playing sports but we have to force them to read and study their school subjects.

Children are fond of new technology, and this can play a vital role in improving their reading habits. Firstly, we can show them online videos of classroom lectures, where different sounds and graphics could be used to attract children. Secondly, we can indulge children into group studies where they could read and discuss what they learned with others. This way children will experience a competition environment with other children with curiosity and will focus more on reading to compete among others. When I was a school student, for instance, we use to have a discussion in the classroom, we use to learn so much in this class due to the competition.

To sum up, children are more fascinated towards sports and less interested in academic syllabus which leads them to lacking behind in reading, whereas, a competitive environment can make them to read more and more.