It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you think it is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Many people are arguing that the media is covering so much of violence in their news briefing that is impacting the teenager's mindset and is resulting in higher crime rate among them. I also find this argument holds some ground, but we cannot account media solely for this. Whereas, at the same time, I firmly believe that some regulation on media is required those I will be discussing in the latter part of the essay.

Nowadays, there are abundance of violent content available in media weather it is electronic, print and social platform that to it is accessible to younger's as well. At this age they are vulnerable and can be manipulated easily, since they have been watching such violent news on several platforms and may get provoked and can find doing crime a fascinating stuff like snatching goods and drug or alcohol consumption. For example, in year 2010, a group of five juvenile caught for robbing an elderly couple and later it came out in interrogation that they were inspired by a news, where a criminal used to steal jewelry of aged people to full fill his expenses.

Although, media is a referred as the pillar of democracy and it has to free so that it can bring the truth in front of the society but sometimes this freedom misused by them like making story catchier and spicier and fill it with violence and action. For instance, many news channels are dramatizing the entire crime story and present them in a way that it is an adventure and here teenagers find it so tempting and may opt path of crime. Therefore, some of measures like allowing violence related news to be telecasted only after 10PM and print such news with disclaimer and verify the age of user while streaming such news on social platform.

In conclusion, there are many contributing factors in surge of juvenile crime and showing violence in media and its reach to younger audience is also one of them. So, to prevent this, regulatory authorities should consider measures discussed as above for betterment of the society.