It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married beforethey are 30, as this is best both for individual and for society.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Marriage is a lifelong commitment, yet the propitious time for this fateful decision is a controversial question. Hence, a vigorous debate has been sparked over whether marriage should be taken place before the age of thirty. In my dissenting opinion, it seems to me that early marriage leads to a multitude of problems.

First, adults in their twenties are still establishing their career path to have both a well-paid job and a prosperous future. Therefore, marriage earlier before advancing in the careers conduces to placing a financial burden on the newlyweds as they have to cater the continuing needs of their daily demands, thereby causing marital discord. For example, houses’ prices are surging radically, so that purchasing a flat requires a great deal of money which is more likely to be difficult because they are at the first steps of having financial stability.

Second, one of the primary causes of the high divorce rates is joining matrimony before the age of thirty. This is because of the lack of intellectual growth which is attributable to inadequate experience to cope with matrimonial disputes. Thus, due to insufficient personal aptitude, the risk of the divorce rate increase contributing to a serious repercussion on their children. For instance, nurture children by separated parents result in developing an aggressive attitude towards friends. As a result, if people married in their twenties, the impacts would be detrimental either on them or on their children.

In conclusion, it appears to me that marriage before the age of thirty not only causes a financial burden but also raises the rate of divorce.