In many cities there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

People have different views about if buildings and blocks should be built under strict regulations. In my opinion, although these constructions can bring some advantages for individuals and businesses, the negatives of them outweigh its benefits in many ways.

On the one hand, designing homes based on one's architectural preferences has several benefits. For those who have a good taste of designation, it would be unfair to force them to live in the same architectural structure as everyone else. If they can organize their own houses and offices, they are more likely to gain a sense of satisfaction and achievement. Moreover, buildings with unique and impressive structures may contribute more tourist attractions to the city, which draws a million visitors annually. This leads to new job opportunities and to boost the city's economy.

However, the construction without a unity design may cause massive drawbacks to both the city and its citizens. First, less regulation can violate housing safety. If the authorities do not tend to supervise the building process, there would be houses with poor conditions which are not safe enough for people to live in. Second, some skyscrapers that are too high may block out the sunlight and ruin the overall layout of the area. Finally, the government will be struggling in doing maintenance work since each style of construction requires a different time and way of maintenance, which costs a lot of money and work.

In conclusion, while I agree that people should build their houses on their own ideas, on the other hand, I believe that the local authority needs to introduce a few regulations to protect the pleasant look of the city.