In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In many metropolitan areas, close circuit television cameras are being installed in public areas to track criminal activities, while others argue that it is encroaching citizen's liberty. This essay will argue that it helps the police to track down criminals, but the downside is that it violates the right to personal freedom. Therefore, the advantage outweighs the disadvantage.

On a positive side, surveillance cameras in stations, bus stops, main streets and parks play a pivotal role in tracking down offenders. For example, The UK police upload facial pictures of criminals in their wanted database. All faces which are being filmed run through the photographs of uploaded earlier. When a picture matches or it is similar, it alerts the operator about the location of the person. This method has helped to solve several bank robbery, murder, and stolen automobile cases around the globe. Therefore, round the clock monitoring helps in safety and security in a city.

The weak side of the argument is that it violates individual privacy. This to say the movement of law-abiding citizens is also digitally recorded, which is considered an infringement of their rights. This makes people left with no choice but to surrendering their privacy or not going to public places or places where they are installed. For example, it is estimated that a person living in any major city in the UK will be recorded up to 80% of the time when they are in public.

In conclusion, although surveillance is an erosion of individual privacy being the downside. The advantage it provides investigating agencies to solve cases overshadows all its drawbacks.