Many countries consider eighteen year olds to be adults, while other countries don’t. What do you think about it? Give your opinion and some relevant examples based on your own experience.

In most part of countries it is normal that eighteen is an age, when every person (excluding some exceptions) becomes an adult. This is age of majority. However, some countries set another age of majority to their citizens. It can be older or yonger age, which depends on their cultural, social and national features. I believe that eighteen is the most comfortable and average option for that purposes.

Firstly, there are a lot of common in social life and educational systems in many countries, especially in developed and developing countries. The average person in eighteen usually has finished school at this time, this person can get a driving licence, go tho the high school. As a result, the person starts to live with a lot of new rights and responsibilities and it means new important decisions and changes. Therefore, eighteen seems like a correct age to install it as a age of majority.

Secondly, if it's necessary, the laws allow in some cases to change this age for particular persons. This flexible regulation can avoid problems with cultural, national conflicts. For instance, in my country, which is called Russian Federation, we also have eighteen as a legal age of majority, but sometimes you have rights to use emancipation process to use all rights and duties of adult person. There are some cases like wedding or business. And it helps to make our regulation more comfortable for citizens in different edges of big country, because in the south republic's’ traditions allow marriage between residents after fourteen years old. I have a friend with the similar case and he indeed was sixteen when he married.

In conclusion, it is absolutely true that every government decide to choose their own age of majority, and there are no problems with countries with higher or smaller age of recognition someone as adult. In some conditions it will be better to set the other age. But particularly in my case I consider, that eighteen is the optimal age, which takes a compromise between different interests.