In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent.

Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Freedom and security are a basic necessities for all the societies. Law and Order is another integral part of the society that helps in ensuring safety of the citizens. Any society that bears a weak trial process faces a lot of criminal activities. A strict approach should be adopted by the government to control the criminal activities and ensure harmony in the society.

A weak and time taking trial process disturbs the harmony of the society. The culprit becomes unafraid and dares to commit heinous crimes. In the past India has experienced some heinous rape cases. For instance The Nirbhaya Rape case of 2016 and the recent Hyderabad Rape and Murder case of 2019. These incidents show that the culprits were unafraid of their governments and dared to not only rape but murder and burn her as well. These cases show that the brutality of the crimes is becoming more and more severe. A lack of proper judicial system directly boosts crime in the society. A strict approach should be adopted against such crimes and quick justice should be served.

The government should come up with strict laws and tighten their grip over such culprits. For instance a Constitutional Amendment regarding the lowering of minor age by the Indian law is a great initiative that will put some pressure on the young culprits. Those who escaped earlier will not dare to repeat the same mistake. Similarly a fast trial process that guarantees a death penalty for the rapist was adopted by Hyderabad government, looking at the seriousness of the situation. Furthermore an encounter was also conducted against the perpetrators. Laws and policies like these will definitely help to control the criminal activities taking place in the society.

Hence, the Judiciary is accountable for controlling the increasing criminal activities. Strict and a faster approach should be adopted while dealing with heinous crimes. No mercy should be given to the culprits, as it rightly said that justice delayed is justice denied. Every citizen has the right to live with its dignity and freedom and the law governing bodies should ensure that.