Nowadays people chose to be self employed rather than working for a company.

What might be the case?

What are some of the disadvantages of being self employed

The nature of employment plays a crucial role in determining the lifestyle of an individual. The working hours and freedom in self employment often gives it an edge over working in any company. But at the same time there is a lack of personal growth in self employment.

Nowadays, more and more companies in the corporate sector are becoming strict regarding the working hours and performance of the employees. Given this situation, the employees sometime feel drained out. This spoils the enthusiasm and leads to low productivity. Low productivity, in turn, showcases them as poor employees.The pressure of losing the job creates a lot of mental tension as well. Lack of proper leaves further worsens this situation. This is a big reason why employees feel self employment better than working with organisations. For instance, many government policies like Make in India opens arenas for self employment and enables them to become an integral part of country’s development.

On one hand some feel self employment gives more freedom, where as, on the other hand they must not forget the area where it lags behind. Working with companies provides a great exposure to the candidate. Moreover, the employees get more oppurtunities to explore. It also develops their personality. At times of recession, big companies often survive but the small self employed people suffer a great deal. The amount of money and risk involved in self employment is also more. The changing policies of government is also likely to affect many self employment activities. To exemplify, a recent survey by the government shows that more than 50% self employed people suffered at the time of demonetisation.

To conclude, it is noticeable that work environment plays a crucial role whether one is self employed or associated with any company. Given the current scenario, a better and progressive work environment is observed in self employment which is motivating the youth to be self employed, but personal growth may have a detrimental impact as well.