Some people believe that elderly employees are more useful to a company, while others believe that young employees are better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Both elderly and young employees are equally important for a company. The young employees bring innovation and technology with them while the older ones bring wisdom and experience. In my view a balanced ratio of both old and young employees can turn out to be a great asset for any company or organisation.

The perks of having young employees is that they bring an innovation and a modern approach of handling tasks. In addition to innovation they are also well aware about the latest technology. Not only are they aware but are also well versed in its usage. They have a free hand at both gadgets and latest software. The older employees are not as computer friendly as the young ones. For instance a recent survey by the Indian Institute of Technology(Mumbai) shows that a great number of young people are aware of the latest technology as compare to the older generation.

It is not wrong to say that old employees are not equally efficient as the young ones. The wisdom that age brings with itself cannot be compared to the minds of young employees. Not only the wisdom but the experience that older employees have is a great virtue as well. In addition, with experience the older people are more familiar with the background or roots of the company. It is statistically proven that the older employees are more patient and focused as compared to the younger ones.

Hence, it is important that companies maintain a balance of their young and old employees. I believe that having older employees is better because they can be trained or informed about the latest technology but it is difficult to teach perseverance and determination.