In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Of late, food is needed an even grown on abundance. In several countries a lot of people prefer to buy imported food rather than, locally cultivated farm produce. The following essay would elucidate the reasons as to why people love to purchase imported food, as well as the essay would further come up with various solutions, in order to motivate people into buying local produce.

The choice towards buying imported food is basically derived from the common assumption that imported food items are way lot superior to regional produce. As they often come with better packaging for example like fruits likes netted packaged apples of New Zealand and even individually plastic packed Thailand guavas. Actually this packaging is done to protect them from the wear and the tear of the journey and even to preserve its quality. However, since ages it is misinterpreted by people as the hallmark of quality. Hence, people have developed a fascination towards these foods One more compelling reason in this context is that it is simply considered as a status symbol for people to be able to buy imported food to illustrate with the availability of Lay potato chips brand even in India there are a lot of rich people in India who would choose to buy imported Lays. Even after realising that t cost manifold times more than the Indian lays. Though this would prove to be detrimental in the long run.

There are lots of motivating factors that would lead to higher sales of the local produce, like proper education and awareness programmes via which the government could even educate them about the health benefits that could be procured by switching over to indigenously grown guavas grapes etc. as these kind of foods amass in freshness, lack of preservatives and even all the nutrients of home products can be checked and even maintained. Once again the individuals could be made aware of the overcharging policy of the imported goods upon citing the ever increasing demand of these eatables, thereby exploiting the consumers all the more, once the consumers realise they would automatically happily buy relatively cheaper and better local food. For example, the Indian government is currently holding such workshops across the country to make people see the way in which Indian herbs and Indian ingredients can be even substituted in Italian or Chinese cuisines.

To recapitulate, with the changing times perspectives of people would also eventually change and they would get more habituated to eating home foods. Only if the government adopts the above measures can we foresee a change in the mind set of people