In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is crucial to carry eatables and beverages if a person is travelling to long distances or even near by and also it is more important to carry all these things in an appropriate containers. Plastic is playing an integral role in carrying and holding most of the routine things. It has numerous merits and demerits and in this essay we will discuss both with supportive examples.

The first and foremost reason behind the mass usage of plastic is that it is highly flexible and easy to recycle which make this substance an unique amongst all the other materials available. Plethora of companies are using plastic as their major material for instance, personal care as containers, equipment, furniture, beverages and many more. Additionally, it is inexpensive which means saves a lot for manufacturing companies and make extra push to their profits, leading to more usage of plastic products. Plastic made things are weighing less as compared to any other material for example glass bottles which are difficult to carry and take care of, due to fragile in nature.

On the contrary, plastic products are deteriorating the global environment inadequately. It takes around 1000 years to decompose plastic items in landfills while plastic bottles take 450 years to decompose. Furthermore, plastic products are significantly proliferating global waste in new limits and even developed countries are struggling with these problems. One study proved that containing food supplements and products in plastic containers for longer duration can cause serious diseases like cancer. Myriads of scientists are searching for alternative of plastic product to tackle various problems mentioned above and wants to mitigate the side effects of this material.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable to say that it is indispensable for society to use plastic products in current scenario because of unavailability of alternative. However, it is necessary to find alternative for the same as plastic has more disadvantages than its advantages.