In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular.

Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular?

What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Nowadays, shows and novels related to delinquencies have become extremely renowned among the general mass. While some people watch these for solely entertainment purpose, others view them as learning lessons so that they can stay safe from dangers.

To begin with, the programs and stories related to crimes are popular for a number of reasons. They provide a source of thrill and entertainment for the people such as who could be the possible culprit or how did the crime happen? Furthermore, some people take lessons from these crimes and tries to remain wary of such situations in real life. For instance, if it was shown that walking alone in the streets could attract unwanted attention and may lead to potential danger, women try to walk in places with more people in order to avoid falling into the same situation.

However, I strongly believe that the stories and programs are for entertainment purpose only. There are very rare instances when the stories portrayed are taken from real incidents. Besides, most of them are fabricated from tit and bits of stories published in the newspaper and the rest is written by a professional script writer to make the stories appear closer to the real incident in order to gain more audience. Although this may have a detrimental effect on people who are sensitive to such social issues or those with certain psychological disorders, it can be avoided with proper guidance. For example, an autistic child might see an episode where a person is being murdered with a knife and may inevitably react to seeing knives around their homes. They can be kept away from watching these kind of programs.

To recapitulate, I would like to reiterate that the crime fiction novels and TV crime dramas are solely for entertainment purpose and should not be taken extremely seriously. Additionally, the people who can be negatively impacted by these should not be allowed to watch or read them.