Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays it has become a common practice for children to use computers on a daily basis. But this has several detrimental effects on the health of youngsters as well as makes them more isolated from peers and friends. This essay will discuss some of these effects.

It has several impacts on their physical health. Firstly, staring at the screen for longer duration will impair vision, resulting in poor vision early in life. Secondly, sitting in the same position may cause problems like back pain, reduced metabolism, obesity, which may lead into severe life threatening diseases such as coronary heart disease, high blood pressure, stroke etc. In a recent study it has been shown that the rate of computers has increased at an alarming rate since the 2000’s and is expected to continue this way for the next decade.

However, the damage to the psychological health is even greater and parents should be greatly concerned about this issue. When children use computers they are exposed to many games and cartoons, that have attractive graphical effects. As a result, the children give up their free time that they could spend with their friend and spend time with these. This further leads to them being slowly isolated from the society into a world of virtual reality. Their emotional development becomes stinted and start living depressed life.

In conclusion, though there could be on positive effects of using computers everyday about the negative effect outweighs them due to impacts on physical and mental health.