In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many people claim that living alone or in small family units have gained popularity and outweighed living in large family groups. While I accept that there are some benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I would agree that it is better to live in a nuclear family.

On the one hand, there are some benefits to living alone or in the nuclear family rather than in large family groups. The most evident strength is that it offers more privacy and personal space for individuals, allowing more freedom to plan one’s schedule and social activities without being interfered with by family members. For this reason, many students and professionals opt to live alone or with a small group of peers while attending university or working. Besides, more private space helps people avoid family conflicts between grandparents and children. As a result, family relationships are maintained.

On the other hand, it seems to me that people should not live alone or in the small-sized family. First, living separately results in the reduction of communication between family members, which may bring about feelings of loneliness and homesickness. That situation can become worse if an individual has to face mental illness or struggle with some kinds of health problems without any support from relatives. Second, in nuclear families, children might grow with insufficient parental care because some parents have to spend most of their time earning a living for families. As a result, those children may be in trouble with building relationships with fellows.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many minus points for living alone or in small family units, although this decision has some notable upsides.