Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. What are impacts of this? What can the government do to solve the problem?

More and more people get sick and die for cigarettes. There are many good reasons to stop people smoking, and the essay will suggest a few solutions to eliminate this situation.

Smoking has significant negative impacts on both individuals and society. At an individual level, smoking diminishes the saving budgets of people. When smokers spend too much on cigarettes, they cannot save much money for their future and are more likely to be in the financial crisis. At the social scale, people who are addicted to smoking would bear a burden on the healthcare system. The government must spend more the national budget on building hospitals and hiring physicians to take care of patients, who are ill for smoking.

There are several measures that the government can do to tackle with the negatives of smoking. First, the tobacco tax should be on the rise every year so that smokers cannot afford this item and, thus, cigarette manufacturers will have to cut down their production due to the revenue loss. Second, the government should prohibit smoking in public places such as bars or restaurants and allow smoking on one's house only. A big fine also needs to be applied to individuals who intentionally violate the smoking rules.

In conclusion, smoking has a variety of tremendous effects at both individual and social levels, and I believe that the responsibilities of the government are to prevent this problem going on. Some suggestions are also given to decline in the number of smokers and help individuals become richer and healthier.