Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, advertising has become a familiar part of our life. It appears everywhere we go, from buildings on streets to diversity of websites on the internet. This raises a concern that people may have become addicted to shopping under the effect of the commercial ads. I think this worry is reasonable although I am more on the positive side of the ads.

On the one hand, it is true that sell advertising is one of the main culprits for the overshopping of people. When we are looking for the social media such as Youtube channel or Facebook, we actually mean to keep track of the breaking news or find entertaining contents to relax ourselves after a long working day; any commercial ads are never in our intentions. Product brands soon know this and, thus, they coordinate with the media companies to let commercial ads pop up on the screen whenever the audiences are watching media contents. At the beginning, the viewers may not pay attention to these ads, but in the future, the constantly repetition of advertising will create more demands for people, urging them to buy products that they do not necessarily need. As a consequence, the audiences have become addicted to shopping.

Although the drawbacks of advertising for the overconsumption of people are undeniable, I am still convinced that advertisement plays an important role in telling us the information of numerous products when we need to go shopping. There is a fact that many useful products are hardly recognized by the customers because the features of these products are so unique that the customers cannot think about. Therefore, in this case, the advertising is needed for brands to introduce and promote the products to the potential customers. In addition, customers are often redundant to buy a products, especially expensive items, if they have little information of that product. However, by watching the commercials, the customers have a chance to get to know different aspects of the item before considering to buy it. For these reasons, the role of the product commercials is more crucial than ever to customers.

In conclusion, the negative effect of ads is clear since it encourages people to buy much more than their needs. However, looking at the bright side, I believe that we still need advertising because it proves useful when we need more information to consider before buying any products.