In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

This is the question that has been in my mind for very long time. When I was a kid, my Father buy newspaper everyday and it was our routine to read it in the morning or atleast in evening after I am back from the School. If any of the days I did not read the papers atleast I will watch the news in night.

I would like to specify that during 1990's we do not have more television channels. In fact we just had one Government channel. It is compulsary for us to watch the news in between the entertainment shows. I dont think we had any other options. It was during my college days, mobile phones became popular and most of the youngsters started using it. After mobile phone existance everyone started to share the news and gossips in messages.

In 21st centuary, smart phones market started to boom. Starting from the school kid to old person started using the phones to track the news. News which we are reading in the newspapers are printed on the day before whereas online news gives you live information on what is happening in the world. In this fast moving world, we want everything to be in hand before we even think of it.

In particular if you are looking for an information in the newspaper it will take much longer to get to the desired page whereas in the internet you can get it in milliseconds. You can even get all related information pertaining to that news as well. Most of us work long hours in office and it is difficult to come on time to watch the news. There are live news channels which satisfies this purpose in recent times.Last and finally I would like to touch upon the more important point that is distraction in young kids. With the smart phone teenagers prefer to chat, access social networking page, talk to friends, watch movies rather than reading news or watching it.

I would suggest in schools and colleges should test the kids on the World happening by keeping exam, arranging debates or giving spot topics regularly and also it would be even more effective if current affairs in world is included as part of the curriculam irrespective of stream of their study. This will encourage them to read the papers and follow the news.