In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technological advancement has absolutely affected the lives of young generations all around the world. Newspapers and televisions are becoming old fashioned for teenagers and young adults and It can be said that the news for these young men and women are the least of their concern. This essay will discuss how parents can guide their children at home to eventually generate interest in the news and how schools and universities can rise awareness on this matter.

Phone applications and computer games are the main distraction from TVs and Newspapers. Because young boys and girls tend to be active on social media platforms to communicate and build relationships, serious news are not on their top list of activities. In the long run, these applications are addictive, physically harmful and in some cases unreal. If parents can monitor and limit the time spent on phones and computers, young individuals will look for TVs and newspapers to be their alternatives.

On the other hand, schools and universities are more influential on young generations. Educational institutions should assign home works and examinations based on articles from newspapers. Students will automatically be engaged in gathering real information and maybe develop a sense of awareness on important events surrounding them. If the youth had proper guidance from early stages, the results will be fruitful in the future.

All in all, modern phone applications and computer games can be very harmful in the long-run on various levels. The interest in news from TV and news-papers can be restored if proper steps are taken at home. Parents are responsible for guiding their children on acquiring real world news even at a young age. Schools on the other hand can be directly efficient on generating interest in the news by giving assignments and home works based on real life current events that can be only taken from newspapers or TVs.