Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol.

Do you think this is an effective measure against crime?

what other solutions can you suggest?

It is often believed that due to alcohol being the reason of many crimes, it should be banned. I believe the banning of alcoholic drinks can reduce crimes because many of the crime gets committed in the effect of these drinks, but to make it more effective government need to increase their security forces too.

It is the undeniable truth that alcohol is the root cause of many crimes. That is to say that when a person intakes an alcoholic beverage, it overrides the human brain, as a result many people tends to have impulsive behaviour. It further escalates into crimes like road accidents, street violence and spousal abuse, which can be all reduced by imposing ban on the liquor. To illustrate, in Gujrat, considered a dry state, a rule was implemented in 2005 to ban consumption and selling of any kind of liquor, as a result, reported crimes are reduced by 50%. Therefore, forbidding alcohol can certainly reduce the crime rate.

Other than that, the government can increase the number of police personals. Nevertheless to mention that if a criminal sees a police officer at every block surveilling streets then they have to be extremely careful before committing any crime. Not only it will prevent the crime but also there will be prompt action, if any such situation arises, to catch the culprits. For instance, a downtown area in Miami, famous for Haitian gangs and criminals, was cleaned up by increasing the ratio of police by 2 times in crime-prone areas. That is how, number of crimes is inversely proportional to the number of police surveilling the streets.

To conclude, indeed, banning alcohol is an effective way of countering crime because many crimes take place in the effect of its intoxication. Further, crime possibility could be reduced by hiring more policemen.