Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

In recent years, the role of women in society has changed to a great extent and their contribution is increasingly important. However, it is noticeable that higher positions in firms are still managed by men, although women account for half of the workforce in developed countries. While some people claim that women should be promoted more to hold these positions, I personally disagree with this idea. My disagreement is not about women working in these positions, rather allocating a certain percentage for them.

The first reason for my opinion is that recruiting should not be based on candidates' gender, but qualification and aptitude. This is because choosing people who cannot adapt working condition will make companies confront with many difficulties- even this can affect profit, productivity and public image of a company. For instance, in my brother’s workplace, a woman was recruited in a higher position only because she was a relative of the owner. In few months the management had to replace her with a more competent employee. Therefore, a company should always choose the best people in order to develop its operation. If a female candidate seems more promising or if an existing female employee has excellent capabilities, there should not be any problem in recruiting or promoting a woman in a higher position. However important posts in a company should not be reserved for women only.

Again, if percentage or number is the most crucial factor, I would say children should also be promoted to higher positions in a company in a developing country as their percentage in factories and industries in those countries is also high. Furthermore, despite the development of our society, women still play an important role in our family. This can have negative effects on organisations if they cannot leave their personal worries behind and work in decision-making and important positions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that employees should be recruited according to their expertise and talent. It is therefore recommended that women who want to play important roles in an organisation should attempt to gain high qualifications, skills. They should not be favoured only because of their gender.