Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

Shopping behaviour of people has drastically changed in recent times. There are indeed numerous reasons why high street shops are at brink of closure, and why more and more people are preferring to shop using other mediums. This essay will dilate the potential reasons for this shift before outlining a reasonable and logical conclusion.

Beyond any qualms, there are ample justifications why small shops are running out of businesses. First and foremost, big shopping malls are replacing small shops. It mostly entails, people can get everything easily by going to a shopping center which includes small things like a needle to big things like a car. To substantiate, according to a most-cited survey, buying things from the shopping complex has become much more convenient because of various things present at such places like various shops, food court, kid's playing area, and many more. Therefore, it is quite eloquent that people prefer to shop from a single shopping mall.

Additionally, there are immense other factors behind this change that are eradicating the small shops. Indubitably, technology has proved to be another preponderant cause behind the downfall of shops. Online shopping is favored by many people, as it offers them a lot of options including but not limited to, easy returns, exchanges, and refunds of the items purchased. To exemplify, AfterPay is an option available to most of the online shoppers to buy the product and allow them to pay later, which makes shopping even more easier and popular. Hence, it is apparent that when people have so many options available sitting at home, why they will go to a shop and buy from there.

To conclude, it is true that small shops are closing and there are several reasons that contribute to this phenomenon. Although, I staunchly believe it is a negative trend making difficult for a lot of people to survive in this cut-throat competition, however, better services and options provided by shopping malls and online businesses has changed the buying behaviour of denizens. Will people understand the importance of small shops or will such shops be completely removed from the market? This remains a debatable question that needs careful deliberation.