Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why does it happen? What actions should individuals take to protect the environment?

It is true that individuals are acutely aware of the necessity to preserve the environment; however, they are inclined to not endeavour to do it. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps should definitely be taken to tackle the problem by every single person.

The perception that many human beings do not take actions to safeguard the environment stems from at least two important causes. Firstly, people feel a lack of social recognition when they carry out any eco-friendly activities. this can make them assume that their effort is invaluable and end up environmentally deleterious actions. Secondly, they are not willing to give up bad habits that are convenient for their life but detrimental to the environment. For example, in Vietnam, the number of motorbikes is reported to soar annually, which has led to an increase in the amount of carbon footprint and exhaust fumes emitted into the atmosphere. however, owing to overwhelming advantages for individuals when driving such undeveloped and crowded street infrastructures there, they still prefer using it rather than public transport.

Since such issues are serious, individuals should take steps immediately to stop degrading the environment. they should start by discontinuing the usage of private means of transport and using alternative transport instead, namely bus rapid transit or train. By doing this can they contribute to mitigating the local air pollution problems. At the same time, human beings had better choose products with less packaging and their reusability. For instance, when going to the supermarket, people can bring their reusable bags, avoid buying products with disposable plastics and pick up recycling glass containers. By reusing and recycling, we can help to control waste management and reduce the amount of unwanted waste discharged into the environment.

In conclusion, it is crucial for individuals to shoulder the responsibility and take some real measures to protect the environment.