Many people today use their mobile phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

Nowadays, digital devices have become an essential part of our lives and drastically changed the way of communication. Most individuals prefer to type massages instead of making a phone call, in order to contact with other person. This essay will examine why such trend has become so popular and will illustrate positive and negative sides of it.

Firstly, writing letters was the most common way of distant interaction though all times. Even though digital devices have replaced an old-fashion mailing system, people still prefer texting than a live dialogue. The main reason is that there is no need in making an appointment for the call, fearing to bother a person in inappropriate time or place. Any individual can send or reply on a massage at any time of the day, even if he is on an important meeting or his child sleeps close by. In this respect, there will be no chance to create someone's irritation or to interrupt a healthy sleep. Moreover, those people, who are afraid of talking strait and tend to get nervous during conversation, can overcome their fear by writing a mail, so no one would notice his voice condition. Obviously, texting instead of making a call is beneficial in terms of its accessibility and communicative fears of some people, therefore it is preferred by the majority of society.

Secondly, there are pros and cons of such development. Namely, the positive aspect is a great flexibility of modern communication, as a person do not need to wait until appropriate time to talk on a phone. Moreover, the recipient has time for the reply, so he could think over a correct respond. On the contrary, because of frequent texting and mailing people's interaction becomes less emotional or even cold. The person cannot feel the mood of the others from their messages, because only human's voice has an ability to transit emotions. In general, if to replace a phone conversation with texting, it will be more comfortable but less emotional.

Considering everything, this essay has provided certain reasons of modern communicative trend, such as time and place convenience, and discussed its advantages and disadvantages, like flexibility and poor emotional state.