In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

With the growth of population, the demand for accommodation is inevitably increasing in metropolises. Since little amount of free space is accessible for construction in these cities, arguments have come up regarding whether the lands of rural areas should be developed to meet this demand or they have to be preserved. However, I believe that development of the countryside should be carried out as long as it is compatible with the environment.

From an environmental point of view, the idea of urbanization of rural areas could be denied for its devastating effects on natural resources. Obviously, settlement of people in the countryside is not limited to building houses, but it also requires providing basic amenities such as construction of roads, power lines, and water supply. Performing these construction operations may result in irreparable environmental damage such as soil erosion and water pollution, to name but a few. Although these concerns appear to be reasonable, in my view, modern urbanization is not necessarily accompanied by pollution and destruction.

Building new homes in the countryside is considered to be an applicable remedy for the challenging issue of overcrowding in big cities. However, in order to minimize negative environmental damage, eco-friendly materials and techniques could be applied. Due to recent innovations in construction industry, the possibility of properly dispose of waste produced during the process, as well as using renewable plant materials like bamboo has been provided for builders. In this way, we tend to make a balance between the environment and development, which means that not only the nature of rural areas would be preserved but also the housing demand could be met.

To conclude, whereas the expansion of urbanization may cause some adverse effects on the environment, I believe that it is indispensable to address the issue of accommodating individuals in big cities. This could be achieved by using sustainable methods and materials during the whole process of development.