Some people think that children should learn to compete in the world, but others think the children should be taught to cooperate so as to become more useful to society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the issue of how to bring up children to become useful citizens has grown in importance. As we are living in a competitive world now, some people argue that encouraging a sense of competition in children is more beneficial than teaching them how to cooperate.

These people believe that competition acts as a motivator to enhance children’s performance. Considering rewards for students’ achievements would encourage them to make the effort to defeat other competitors by gaining better results. In this way, the children are more likely to be well-prepared for other competitive aspects of life including university education and employment. For example, in my country, there is a strong competition for university entrance examination, and the candidates with higher ranks not only enjoy studying in prestigious universities, but also are offered by better job opportunities after graduation. Therefore, in order to overcome these challenging issues, it seems advisable for children to learn competition skill.

By contrast, other people opine that being cooperative is more effective than winning individual battles. There are some situations in everybody’s life which involves teamwork and collaboration. Examples can be seen in the workplace, where successful cooperation with colleagues and managers positively impacts on employees’ career prospects. In addition, focusing on achieving their goals independently to win a competition, students are highly likely to have an indifferent outlook toward their classmates. As a result, in the future, these children will probably become adults with unhelpful attitude toward their fellow citizens who are in need.

It is sensible to conclude that both competition and cooperation skills are necessary for children to become useful adults. The reason is that rivalry would motivate students to try hard, and at the same time working in a team would prevent them from overlooking others’ needs.