Many students take part-time jobs while studying in the universities. Is this a bad or a good idea?

Can by doing a part-time job along with studies would create hindrance in a person’s education? As a matter of fact, more often than not it is observed by many a man that the trend of working while studying has taken a boom in the modern era. To my mind, it is a welcome change because it not only makes an individual self-dependent but also, builds an overall character to tackle ups and downs in the future.

Arguably, difficulties faced by an individual at an early age are not considered to be the stepping stone for a progressive lifestyle for no reason. Since in myriad of teenagers believe in leaving their parent's house when they turn eighteen, the way they save for their tuition and basic necessities gives them the lesson for survival in the world. A painstaking research by Harvard University has had been undertaken on the teenagers, where it was revealed that 57% of the students who preferred a job along-with their studies became the leading businessmen in the future, rather than those who lived with their parents during their course of study.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, another school of thought argues that doing part-time affects the education of an individual. Owing to limited hours in a day it is difficult to manage work and studies, the individual often feels sleep deprived due to this which leads to health problems. Although it is not entirely untrue, the real impact is not that severe as it is assumed. For instance, no sooner did a survey was conducted by the Canadian Education department, than it was unfolded that 23% of the students who were working a part-time job along with their studies suffered from permanent nerve damage, due to getting less than 5 hours sleep in a day.

To conclude, but for any doubt, working during study makes an individual financially stable. However, if a balance between work and studies are made for a healthy lifestyle, it would lead to a socially stable and professionally enriching lives; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.