Some people suggest that bringing up children by the whole family including uncles, aunt, and grandparents is better, rather than only by parents. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples.

Can children who are residing in a joint family become a better person by learning from the valuable experience of their elders? As a matter of fact, the question clearly outlines the comparison between joint family and nuclear family, in which the former is clearly better equipped to raise a child than the latter because in joint families the children are under proper supervision and children can easily confide in their grandparents as well as the elders of the family for their problems as they feel safe in that environment. Therefore, I agree with the fact that raising a child in a joint family is better as the parents would not have to hire professionals for taking care of their children which brings economic stability to the family.

Arguably, the trend of joint family is not recurring in the contemporary era for no reason. Since the dawn of human civilization, the upbringing of the children was done in a joint family where they would learn many qualities such as sharing their space with others, which develops the love and affection of the children towards society. For instance, no sooner did a survey by the Harvard University on the children who were residing with their extended families was performed, than it was revealed that those children showed 58% less delinquent behavior rather than those who were brought up in a nuclear family.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, another school of thought opines that, more often than not myriad of teenagers feel trapped in a joint family as they don’t get privacy. While residing in a joint family the decision of the whole family is given importance. Hence, youngsters feel that their individuality is thrown out of consideration. For example, research conducted by the Indian Child Welfare department it was revealed that, 8 out of 10 children who are residing in the joint family never become self-dependent and will remain in their safe zone, owing to the constant need for getting approval from their elders.

To conclude, but for any doubts, mental and psychological support given by the elders in a joint family cannot be replaced by parents alone for the overall development of the children. Therefore, if a balance between the individuality of a person along with the invaluable guidance of the elders is made, it will eventually lead to a socially stable and morally prosperous society; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.