For many young people today, shopping is their favorite free time activity.

Why do you think this has happened?

Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time?

Shopping has become the favorite pass time activity for teenagers as well as adults. With easy access to transportation facilities and the trend of spending weekends in big malls shopping has become the new trend for spending time alone as well as with friends especially on weekends. However, youngsters should be encouraged to spend their time in more useful activities instead of wasting their time and money in shopping expensive fashion items just to keep up with the latest fashion trend.

Beyond any qualms shopping has become the most beloved fun activity for not just children, students but even the parents are also addicted to shopping. Nowadays, people from all age groups like to spend their free time such as holidays and weekends in malls for not just shopping clothes but also shopping the latest gadgets such as expensive mobile phones, latest gold jewelry, trendy watches, video games etc. This trend is popular as now even the middle class population wants to keep pace with the latest styles by buying the trending products in the market. Moreover, people of all age groups have easy access to transportation facilities and can spend money in such places for recreational purpose and keep up with the latest trends in fashion.

However, I believe that youngsters should not be encouraged to spend their free time in shopping activities. It is not just wastage of time but also of their hard earned money. Teenagers and youngsters can instead utilize their time in learning new skills and enhancing their own skills which can be helpful for them in securing jobs and building their career. For example, they can join NGOs, attend a music classes or learn a new game as utilizing their time and money in learning these skills will add to their personality and they will be well equipped to face life as a mature and learned individual.

In conclusion, I believe that spending time and money on shopping is not going to be of any help in future for younger generations and instead they should be encouraged to focus on more useful activities that can build their personality and improve their communication skills and also teach them the importance of spending wisely and saving money for future.