Measures have been put in place to improve road safety by reducing speed limits. Some people believe there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that adopting methods to reduce speed limits will help in reducing the number of accidents and improve safety of people on the roads while I think that there are better alternatives available to do the same.We will discuss both the opinions and why I support the later view.

Most of the time it happens that when a person is driving at a regular speed and if some obstacle comes in between, it becomes easy to control. For example,if a person is driving at a speed limit of around 50 km/hr. and all of a sudden if some cattle comes in front,it is still manageable to prevent fatality by applying break immediately.But, on the contrary if speed is double or above 70km/hr. then it is dangerous.That is the reason most of the roads and highways mention minimum speed limits for the user.Though,this doesn't guarantee to reduce the no. of accidents but can be possibly avoided.However, it is very difficult to check the speed limit of each vehicle on every road of the city.

On the other hand,there are many alternative methods if adopted, will yield desired results.The most important thing is authorities should make hard rules to get the license. There should be theoretical and practical exams.License should be strictly issued to only those who clear exams and only to competent drivers. Although,serviliance of road should be monitored by installing CCTV cameras and deploying traffic police officials at major cross roads/junctions/highways.

In conclusion, reducing speed limit alone shall not improve road safety, other methods as stated above and increasing fines for non-adherence of traffic guidelines will be more effective.