Men do most of the high-level jobs. Should the government encourage a certain percentage of these jobs to be reserved for women?

What is your opinion on that?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Most of the high paid jobs are dominated by males. A section of people believe that a certain amount of high level jobs should be reserved for females as well. However, few people oppose this idea. I will scrutinize both aspects before forming any opinion at the end.

To embark on, our globe is man dominated in most of the sectors. So, it is quite obvious that high paid jobs will be captured by men. However, to have healthy society, we must encourage our female colleague to stand for high managerial jobs. For this, government must intervene and must take many steps. Firstly, in schools or in colleges certain portion of seats must be kept for females. This will help girls to enroll in streams like science, engineering etc. Secondly, in job sectors man-woman workforce must be fixed. For instance, to empower women, Indian government has fixed male-female ratio to 8:2 i.e. 20% reserved for women. Lastly, many events can be organised, specially for females, like science projects, innovation idea competition. It is observed that in field of science of technology, girls are given less importance. These initiative will definitely help women to showcase their talent and will be able to lead high level jobs such as CEO, MD and minister.

However, few people believe that reservation will create detrimental effect in our society. Mentally, men and women are same. Everyone can reach top position of an organization if he or she has capability. Reservation may deprive a worthy male candidate from getting a high paid job.

To recapitulate, reservation for women might be a good idea in school to encourage girls to get seats in competitive subjects. However, in jobs reservation should not be entertained as capable candidate will definitely reach the highest level.