Modern communications mean that it is no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

With the rapid growth in technology, communication has taken many new forms, even a person staying continents away could be contacted in no matter of time. So of the new communication means include email, social sites, cellular mobiles, fax machines. However, in my opinion letter do hold a special place and are not something, which can become obsolete.

The newer age technology communication has definitely changed our life style to a great extent. The change being more towards doing good, with descend of cellular mobiles, it has become easier and convenient, to be in touch with the loved ones. Although people stay in different countries or even continents, for that matter, they can talk to each other at a much reasonable price. In earlier days, if any important message had to be sent across to a far away place, it used to take days or months together. In which case most of the time the matter of urgency is lost.

The advent of social networking has taken communications to a next level. We can make friends across the borders. This brought the world together in many ways. Be it a technology, a political, or a social happening, it is quickly conveyed to the whole world with a single click. The fund raising for the devastated state, kerala, due to recent floods is a very good example. Modern communication has been playing a key role in globalization.

However, there is always another side to a coin. This exceeding intense lightning fast connectivity have also spread like a wild fire, with no control. The recent mob lynching that have been taking place in the country, over a fake news about child kidnappers is one such an example. Even, many a times, social agitations had taken place leading to the loss of public property. It brings people quickly together for a good cause.

Letters in the other hand are very efficient means of communications at the same time can be well controlled. They still hold a very high position in the society. Letters are the most sought out means for any official communications. In our Indian government, any of the communication, which is of high importance, is made in letterform. Even when it comes down to personal things, letter effectively convey the message. In this busy life, if someone puts down a pen on a paper and writes to a person, it shows how important or special the other person is, to him. Any special feelings when conveyed in the form of a letter, remain for long in one’s memory and are treasured. I would prefer writing a letter to my husband to convey a special message or to sort out any misunderstandings, though we live under the same roof. To sum it up, letter can never be replaced and have their own importance.