Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Before the modern era, people mostly were writing letters to communicate with others. There were not so many options to be in touch, in those days. However today we have a lot of options for a good communication, and we do not even have to write a single letter to anyone.

We are living in the century that every action must be completed immediately, including communication and we all have mail addresses and phones to make this happen. We do not want to wait to say hi or to deliver an important document. Pace become an important subject in communication and writing a letter became out of the race.

Writing a letter become unfashionable and we can clearly see the reason. For instance, a soldier who wants to see his family can now call his wife and see his children wherever he is in, which cannot be done by writing a letter. Also if we think about a person who waits for an important reply would not prefer to wait a week with a risk of losing it on the road instead of a safe arrival in a second.

Today we are only writing letters to solve formal problems with companies and governmental departments, and this is also changing fastly. Maybe it will take a long time to see that writing a letter disappear but day by day it will fade away.

In conclusion, I would definitely agree that letters are outdated while we change our applications because they are slow to deliver messages and we are racing with milliseconds, seeing that people are no longer writing a letter is inevitable. Like everything, communication is also evolving and changing, and we do not need to write a letter anymore like we used to do.