More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is becoming a pressing concern specially with the youth of today. With changed lifestyle and fast paced living people want to have everything instantly and hence increasing the dependence on fast foods which are usually very fattening. There are a few people who concur to the view that by escalating the price of fatty foods the issue of obesity could be solved but in my view it couldn't be the only solution and the above point is further elaborated below.

Though increasing the cost of a product to reduce its consumption seems a good and a genuine solution on paper but actually it has failed to solve the purpose like it is seen in case of cigarets where when the price was even increased by 100% it's consumption reduced by only 5%. Thus, just increasing the prices of fatty products cannot provide the ultimate solution.

There is a great need that apart from the above measure other policies should even be implemented and put forward. Generating awareness among individuals on the harms of consuming fattening foods can be a step forward. They should be made aware of healthier alternatives that are plausibly less fattening like replacing full cream milk with skimmed milk, consuming whole wheat bread over white bread etc.

So it can be said that a single measure of heightening price cannot be the sole solution to the above issue. Along with it we need to incorporate other solutions like generating alternatives, creating awareness etc. which can help in solving this menace.