More developing countries are given aid from international organizations to help them in their development plans. Some people argue that financial aid is important but others suggest that practical aid is important but others suggest that practical aid and advice are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many second-world countries are provided assistance by multinational corporations to help them to make development plans. It is debated by some people that monetary assistance is crucial while others say that they should be given consultation and help that is pragmatic. I believe the latter will benefit them in uplifting their economy. Both these views will be discussed below with relevant examples.

On the one hand, providing financial help to those nations that are on the way of progress would assist them to use the money to formulate such policies that can be beneficial for the economic growth. For instance, when the World Bank provides cheap loans to Pakistan, authorities here introduce such programs where they encourage small entrepreneurs to take loans and establish a successful business, this in turn not only generate profits and increase government revenue through tax but also, provides employment to other citizens. However, I believe this would increase a country’s dependence on international entities and they would not try to work on their own.

On the other hand, advising developing nations on how to formulate policies and what techniques should be followed to implement them effectively can result in efficient performance of various sectors. If transnational entities teach this to these countries, it will lead to make them not to reply to others and try to find out and learn solutions to their problems. For example, it has been proved in a study by the Oxford University that when Amnesty International provided advisory services for free to the less developed nations, it helped them to improve performance if the overall economy. I believe this approach is better as it teaches them independence to grow.

To conclude, although giving help in monetary form to progressing countries by multinational entities can assist them to use this money for the economic growth, I believe that providing training on making efficient and better policies will be more effective approach.