In natural scenic spots, such as lakes, mountains and beaches there is much litter or rubbish. Why do people do that? How to deal with it?

These days, the pollution produced by tourism has threatened the natural environment of some tourist attractions, making it a big problem to be adressed before those places are completely spoiled. This essay will delve into the causes of this phenomenon and suggest simple measures to solve it.

The most obvious reason why people people litter in natural scenic areas is that they have little awareness of environmental conservation and the repercussions of their action. Tourists usually possess the belief that one plastic bottle or one wrapper of chips wouldn’t matter. However, they don’t understand that if thousands of people do the same thing, natural scenic spots will turn into a landfill. They also don’t know that their rubbish is mostly made of non-biodegradable material which can take thousands of years to decompose, causing soil contamination and driving many animal species to the verge of extinction.

The second reason of this problem is that they think it is not their responsibility. They usually hold the misconception the onus of keeping these places clean rests on governments and local authorities. Hence, they consider protecting the environment none of their businesss and continue leaving a trail of pollution in their wake. Moreover, the environmental protection facilties are not sufficient in some tourist attractions. People would not litter in natural scenic areas if trashcans are at regular intervals.

The first step towards sustainable tourism is that governments, local authorities and tourist companies should educate the tourists about their responsibilities. More campaigns should be launched to enhance tourists’ awareness of environmental issues. Tour operators also have the responsibilities to make tourists realise that their careless attitude to the environment could skill future tourism and that nothing would be left for the next generations. Additionally, the authorities should ensure proper facilties at such tourist attractions and enforce laws to fine heavily anyone who litters carelessly.

To conclude, irresponsible tourism can have a lot of detrimental impacts on the natural environment, so both governments and individuals should take reponsiblities towards this issue. Everyone should remember the saying “A good tourist is one who leaves behind nothing but footprints and takes away nothing but photographs”.