News stories on TV and newspapers are very often accompanied by picture. Some people say that these picture are more effective than words.

What is your opinion for this?

yes, the news storied on TV and newspapers accompanied by pictures are very affective. Suppose you are reading a newspaper in hurry and you are just taking a overview of the news headlines, you will look at the pictured first. by looking at the pictured we get a rough idea about the news and incident which is mentioned in the newspaper for our knowledge and information. as we all know pictured are always better than words as they give a overall overview of the incident which connects us to the reality of it and we might not connect to words the same way as pictures do.

Also there is a strong reason that there pictures should be chosen very carefully so that the important news can get our attention real quick. Suppose there is a article on the front page stating about a murder case in which the victim was hanged to the roof. it might be not very bothering when you read it but what if we have the picture right in front of us. we could feel the moment of heat and injustice done to the victim and also we would have an idea about the situation.

media nowadays uses different method to get attention of the public for marketing and to sell their newspaper like any other newspaper company. i don't know how they get such audacity to use this for their marketing and to increase the business.