Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Children form the backbone of any nation. They not only portray an image of the present of the society but also reflect the true picture of its forthcoming coming years, therefore, these young buds should be nourished in the best way possible to ensure lucrative adults. However, owing to huge technical advances, children are mostly seen avoiding outdoor games and expend most of their time playing computer games. Some of the reasons behind this change are enlisted below.

The fundamental factor responsible for the reluctance of outdoor sports in children is the growth of technological advancements in the field of computers. Nowadays, computer games are becoming interactive and high-end graphics are certainly allowing youngsters to play them in a real-time. In addition to this, ranging from kids to adolescents, there are numerous games in the market for every age group so one can choose according to their interest. Nevertheless, playing computer games is obviously a fun activity and it can help to rejuvenate and reconstruct the energies of young buds.

Apart from technical advancements, physical factors are also playing an equal role in avoiding children for taking sports. One of the reasons that youngsters choose computer games over sports is that computer games are less physically demanding. Additionally, most of the outdoor sports require a team to play which is not true for indoor games. Furthermore, supervising the children becomes easy when they are indoor under the sight of their parents.

I certainly believe that this shift is problematic for the development of children in various ways. Primarily, less exposure to physical games will make children dull and lethargic and their physical development can be hindered as well. Apart from this, if they will not involve in co-curricular activities, there are the chances that they will fall prey to various diseases more often.

To encapsulate, there are a plethora of reasons behind the overconsumption of computer games, while this is an unhealthy approach, steps should be taken to curb this menace.